Thursday, 15 May 2014

Michael Jackson's Xscape: An Album Jackson Would Have Been Proud Of

Deluxe Edition cover.

Keeping true to Michael Jackson's prior albums, this one was given the title Xscape; by taking one of the songs enlisted within that gives it an edgy quality. Jackson used this rule to name his past albums, such as Thriller, Dangerous and Bad.

Comprising of eight songs written between 1983 - 2001 these eight songs were recreated and produced by people other producers.

The album comes in different editions. Regular edition which has the eight songs recently reproduced to have a more modern feel to it. Deluxe edition has the eight redone songs as well, but on top of that they also have the same songs but they are the original versions with Micheal's visions of them.


1. Love Never Felt So Good
2. Chicago
3. Loving You 
4. A Place With No Name
5. Slave To The Rhythm
6. Do You Know Where Your Children Are 
7. Blue Gangsta
8. Xscape

From the first few seconds it become obvious that the reworked songs have been carefully composed to sound like Michael himself would have produced them, and to sound like it came from his past albums such as 80s and 90s. 
Relying heavily on synthesizers accompanied with a variety of a clapping beats, finger snapping and percussion, each song would have made Jackson proud, they truly outdid themselves at envisioning his style in a bid to recapture the 80s-90s classics while still sounding modern.

The album itself starts off with throwback nostalgia, giving off a strong 80s disco vibe. It sounds like a typical MJ song straight from the days of such hits as Thriller and Bad. Songs with funky beats provide a familiar -but not overdone- atmosphere taking you back a couple of decades. 
It then begins a descent into songs that while they are simplistic in nature, they're still brilliant, pianos and a simple beat accompanied with soft, soothing vocals produces a relaxed ambiance that could be a great complement to his early 90s 'Remember The Time'. However nostalgia doesn't stop there as 'A Place With No Name' bears a significant resemblance to 'A Horse With No Name' (a 1972 song by the band America).


The produces did an amazing job recreating the music styles of Jackson taking note of instruments, way they are played, melodies incorporated and bring it all together to make one of the best posthumous albums to date.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.